How can I block people on Facebook? Probably your Facebook friends are getting you upset or pissed off with their posts, or suddenly breaks into a rant on your Facebook feed. As a result, you may feel like there are getting your timeline filled up. So, you may consider blocking them from your Facebook profile. The social media giant has done an amazing job in helping users get connected with their long-time friends and other Facebook users. Facebook has also made it possible for you to block those friends of yours.
However, blocking someone on Facebook is different from unfriending them. When you block someone on Facebook, you will lose total connection with them and you won’t be able to do some things with them such as starting a conversation with them or adding them as a friend. But when you unfriend such a person, only your posts will be made invisible to them and they won’t be able to chat you up. So, blocking a Facebook friend prevents the person from tagging you or see things your post on your feed.
What Happens When You Block a Friend?
When you block someone on Facebook, they won’t be able to do the following;
- Invite you to events or groups.
- See things you post on your profile.
- Tag you in posts, comments, or photos.
- Add you as a friend.
- Start a conversation with you.
Note: Blocking someone does not prevent all communications or interactions and only affects your interactions with that person on Facebook.
Check It Out <<< How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook
After I Block Someone, Can I Still See Anything About Them?
Although when you block someone on Facebook, it prevents many interactions with that person, you may still encounter what they’ve shared. These include;
- Photos: You are likely to see the photos or tags of that person added by other people.
- Groups: Someone you’ve blocked will not be able to invite you to a group. But you will see groups that the person created or is a member of.
- Messages: Moreover, your message history with the blocked person remains in your inbox. If the person you block is ever included in a conversation with a group of friends, you will definitely see the person’s messages.
- Mutual friend content: There is a high tendency that you will see content about the blocked person via mutual friends. For instance, if the person you blocked tags a mutual friend in a post, you will see it on your friend’s timeline.
- Games and apps: Unfortunately, the Facebook block does not apply to games and apps since they are run by outside developers. In other words, you may see someone you’ve blocked while playing a game in the Facebook games chat room.
How to Block People on Facebook
As a Facebook user, you can block other Facebook users who are your friends. When you block someone on Facebook, it’s simply a way to do away with people you don’t want to communicate with. In this section of our article, we’ll be showing how to block people from your Facebook friends list either on a desktop or mobile device.
How to Block Someone on Facebook [Desktop]
To block someone on Facebook using a desktop computer, follow the guidelines below;
- Launch a web browser and visit Facebook.com.
- If there is a need to log in to your account, log in to access your news feed.
- On your account homepage, click the down arrow icon at the top right of your news feed.
- Another page will pop-up when you click the arrow icon. From the option displayed, select Settings & Privacy.
- Under Settings & Privacy, select Settings.
- From the left menu options, select Blocking.
- In the Block Users section, enter the name of the person you want to block and click Block.
- Then select the specific name of the person you want to block from the list that appears and click Block.
- After that, a confirmation box will appear explaining the implications of the block that person. If you are sure of the decision, click Block [Name].
However, if you can’t find the person using this method, just visit the person’s profile and click the three dots menu and select Block from the options.
How to Block Someone Using The Facebook App
In the meantime, you can also block your Facebook friend using the Facebook app. However, the Facebook app is only compatible with Android and IOS devices. To block someone using this method;
- Launch the Facebook app on your mobile device.
- Visit the profile page of the person you want to block.
- Click the three dots on under and to the right of the person’s name.
- Then click Block.
- From the confirmation pop-up, click Block.
There you have it! You blocked the person on Facebook. When you block someone on Facebook, they won’t be notified that you’ve blocked them.