How to Block Someone on Facebook: Blocking someone on Facebook can be an easy way to protect yourself from an individual or a certain number of people with dangerous motive(s). Maybe possibly to avoid online harassment, or someone or a particular set of people you don’t want to communicate with.
Moreover, to Block someone on Facebook essentially prevents them from connecting with you and seeing your Facebook content. While doing this you are also hiding all of the person’s Facebook content from you. A blocked Facebook user will be unable to invite you to events, send you a direct message, or view details on your profile. However, blocking someone on Facebook is quite easy to do. It requires nothing but just a simple procedure.
When you block someone or a friend on your Facebook account. The person will no longer be able to do things like chatting with you, tagging you or viewing your posts on your timeline. He/she will be restricted online from doing anything social with you on Facebook.
What happens when I block someone on Facebook?
When you block someone or a friend on your Facebook account. The person will no longer be able to do things like chatting with you, tagging you or viewing your posts on your timeline. He/she will be restricted online from doing anything social with you on Facebook. When you block someone on your Facebook account, this is what happens;
- They won’t be able to tag you in posts, comments, or like your photos.
- They won’t be able to start a chat with you.
- Plus, they won’t be able to see things you post on your profile.
- They won’t be able to invite you to events or groups.
- They won’t be able to add you as a friend.
- Lastly, he/she won’t be notified when you block them.
If you block someone you’re friends with, Facebook will automatically unfriend you as well. When you block a friend, you also won’t be able to do things like chat with them or add them as a friend. Eventually, when you decide to unblock a friend on Facebook, your connection or bond as a friend on Facebook will be cancelled, i.e. you won’t automatically be friends again. If you block a friend and then unblock them, you’ll have to send them a new friend request.
Block Someone on Facebook Using your Mobile Device
Have this in mind, blocking someone on Facebook may not prevent all forms of communications. It only affects your connection with that person only on Facebook. Here are the processes on how to block someone on Facebook;
- Use any Android device or iOS Device or tablet to open the official Facebook app and log in if you haven’t.
- On your Facebook page, tap on the search bar at the top of the app and type in the name of the person you want to block. Type in the person’s right name to get his/her correct account and tap on the account when you’ve seen it.
- Go to the person’s profile, locate the Ellipsis iconwhich is the Three menu option under his/her profile picture, and tap on it.
- A menu containing a list of options will pop out. Tap on the Block option.
- A confirmation request on whether to Block the person will be sent. Tap on Block once more if you’re sure of blocking the person.
Block Someone on Facebook Using your Computer
- Open the internet browser of your choice on your computer or smartphone and visit the official Facebook site www.facebook.com.
- Log in to your Facebook account and search for the name of the person you want to block in the search bar at the top of your Facebook website. Then go to the Facebook profile of the person you want to block.
- When you’ve arrived at the person’s profile page. Click on the Ellipsis (Three dots) close to the Message button.
- A pop-out menu list will appear. Click on the Block option.
Lastly, an option of either to Cancel the Block or Continue will appear. If you’ve confirmed the person you’re about to block and you’re sure of your request. Then click on Block once again. Finally, you’ve gotten rid of the troublesome friend on your Facebook.
Who Can I Really Block on Facebook?
You can block any Facebook user on Facebook whether they’re a friend, family member, or an unknown user. You can block your Facebook friend, or those who are following your public posts, or even those who are completely a stranger to you.