It is no doubt that opening a Facebook page for your business is one of the ways of promoting your business. With a Facebook page, you can connect with several people and advertise your business. Although Facebook remains the world’s largest social media platform there are instances where a Facebook page owner may want to delete their Facebook page and remove their presence from the social media giant. A Facebook page owner may have his or her reason for deleting his or her Facebook page. Thus, reasons vary. Whatever, the underlying reason maybe, we’ll be showing you how to delete your page from Facebook.
Meanwhile, there are two different ways of removing a Facebook page from public view. You can either change the status of your page to ‘Unpublish’ or delete the page [permanently remove the page from Facebook]. But to either unpublish a page or delete it, you must be a page administrator. Before we show you how to delete a Facebook page, let us see how to unpublish a page.
How to Unpublish a Facebook Page
Unpublishing a Facebook page is entirely different from deleting it. When you unpublish a Facebook, it only removes the page from public view and does not delete it. If you choose to unpublish a page, only admins will see it. To unpublish a Facebook page, follow the steps below;
- Visit www.facebook.com on a web browser.
- Login to your Facebook account.
- Visit your Facebook page.
- From the list of menus under the manage page, click on ‘Settings’.
- Under the General tab, click on Page Visibility.
- Tick the Page Unpublished button.
- Once you’ve done that, click on ‘Save Changes’.
Once you click on this button a page will appear asking you to share the reason for unpublishing your page. After answering those questions, click save to unpublish your page. With that, your page visibility will be shown as unpublished.
How to Delete Facebook Page on Desktop
When you delete a page from Facebook, it means nobody will be able to see or find it. Once you click delete you have 14 days to restore the page back in case you change your mind. Afterward, you will have to confirm if you want to permanently delete the page. However, you can delete the Facebook page either on a desktop or mobile device. To delete your page using a desktop, follow the steps below;
- Open Facebook on your computer and sign in.
- From the menu that appears on the left side of your screen, click on ‘Pages’.
- If you have more than one Facebook page, select the page you want to delete.
- From the page menu scroll down and tap ‘Settings’.
- On that page, you will see various lists of Facebook settings.
- Navigate down and locate the option that says ‘Delete your page’. Click on it.
- A notification will appear making you know that you have 14 days to restore the page.
- To proceed with the deleting, click Delete <Your Page Name>.
- You will find those words in blue.
- Another page will appear asking you if you’re sure of this decision.
- If you’re sure, click the big blue ‘Delete Page’ button.
Once you click this button, a page will appear confirming that your page has been deleted. After that, click OK.
How to Delete a Facebook Page on Mobile Devices [Android and IOS]
Likewise, you can delete a Facebook page on mobile devices. You can simply do that using the guide below;
- Launch the Facebook app and sign in if necessary.
- At the top of the homepage, click the three horizontal lines.
- From the menu that appears, select ‘Pages’.
- If you have more than one Facebook page, click on the page you want to delete.
- After that, click the three dots at the top right corner.
- From the menu that appears, click ‘Edit Page’.
- On the next page, you will see several areas of your page you can edit. Click the ‘Settings’ button.
- Under the settings options, click the first option which is ‘General’.
- Navigate down and locate ‘Remove page’.
- Underneath that section, you’ll see a question in blue, asking, “Delete <Your Page Name>?” Click on these blue words that are customized to your Facebook name.
- Two options will appear along with a notification telling you that you have 14 days to restore the page.
If you are sure of that decision you want to make, click the blue ‘Delete Page’ button.